FoA L&T Awards

Photography of the 2023 2023 Faculty of Arts Learning and Teaching Award Winners
2023 Faculty of Arts Learning and Teaching Award Winners

The Faculty of Arts Learning and Teaching Awards highlight and reward individuals and teams who make outstanding contributions to learning and teaching in the Faculty of Arts. Award categories focus on learning and teaching which improves the quality of student engagement, experience and learning outcomes at the student, unit and/or course level and recognise excellence across the Faculty.

Watch this space for 2024 Faculty of Arts L&T Awards details.

Past Winners

Workshop recording: How to apply for an award

Award Categories and Criteria

Four categories are open to both academic and professional staff. Award recipients, individual and/or team, will receive a certificate and the prize for each category of award.

FoA Award Categories

Max no. of awards

Application Length

2023 Prize

Early Career 


500 words 


Learning Innovation  


1000 words 


Teaching Excellence 


1000 words 


Educational Leader  


1000 words 


Further Information

Assessment also considers: 

  • Contribution to positive student learning, student engagement or overall student experience.
  • Recognition from fellow staff, the institution, and/or the broader community.
  • Evidence of sustainability and impact for a period of no less than two consecutive years (one year for early career), not including time taken for development or trial of any activity.
  • Support from formal and informal evaluation.
  • Shown creativity, imagination, or innovation.
  • Teaching which fosters the Faculty objectives as outlined in the Faculty of Arts Strategic Plan.
  • Incorporated information contained in student data or institutional student surveys and references.
  • Award winners and shortlisted entries are eligible to be nominated for a Vice Chancellor’s award in any following year.

Applicant Process, Support & Mentoring

Applications are now open, and close on 6 November (11.59pm). Awards will be presented on 4 December, at the Faculty end-of-year celebration. We hope to see you there to celebrate our colleagues’ achievements in learning and teaching, and hear more about the innovative work our colleagues are doing across learning and teaching in the Faculty.

We encourage staff to get in touch with the LD&P team if you are considering applying. The LD&P team provides individual consultations to assist potential applicants in developing their applications. We can also put you in touch with past winners to provide guidance on how to craft a winning application. Please email for more information about the Awards or to inquire about a consultation.

Compulsory Documentation  

(1) Online application form: Available here

(2) Written statement  

  • Addressing the selected criteria for the award category.  
  • Text only, no weblinks or images.  
  • Must include word count (see above for word count requirements)

(3) Supporting documentation to support the written statement

  • Maximum three A4 pages.  
  • A three-minute (max) video may be submitted in lieu of three-page document for the following award categories: Learning Innovation Award; Teaching Excellence Award; Educational Leader Award.  
  • Supporting evidence includes student feedback; references; evaluation results; any related media etc. 


  • A4 page size 
  • Use selected criteria as subheading (suggested)  
  • Fonts - Arial/Calibri regular 11 point for the written statement; 9 point for the supporting documentation
  • Header - Full name of nominee at the top right  
  • Footer - Title of the document on the bottom left; page numbers at the bottom right 
  • Margin - at least 2 cm with clear definition between paragraphs, and no columns should be used  
  • Paragraph line spacing - single line


The Faculty Assessment Panel reserves the right not to grant any categories of the awards should it judge the selection criteria not to have been met to a sufficiently high standard. 

Award prizes may be used to provide additional resources: for professional learning/capability enhancement to support teaching enhancement activities and to disseminate best practice(s) in learning and teaching.

Award winners will be invited to present a paper and/or workshop based on their award-winning practice at Faculty learning and teaching event/s, and to promote their innovation(s) to other staff through peer-review, mentoring and other relevant communities of practice.


  • Nominations can be for individuals or teams including academic and professional staff and sessional staff. Team nominations can include a maximum of ten staff. 
  • Nominees may be full time, part time, casual, fixed-term, continuing or adjunct staff. 
  • Individual applicants must have sustained service of no less than one year teaching related employment at the University. A nominated team may include members without one year of teaching-related employment at the University. 
  • The definition of “Early Career” for the Early Career Award category is defined as “within five years (full time equivalent) of first appointment.” 
  • All award categories will take into consideration any periods of significant career interruption. 
  • Duplicate written statements across multiple award categories will not be accepted. 
  • Individual Award recipients (winners only) are not eligible for Learning and Teaching renomination within the same category within two years of receiving a Learning and Teaching Award (i.e. if a recipient wins in 2022, they are not eligible to reapply in the same category until 2025). Please note individual award recipients can only re-nominate if they form part of a team application and are not the team lead. 
  • Team award recipients from previous years are eligible to apply for a team award on an annual basis. 
  • The categories of Educational Leadership and Teaching Excellence awards are distinct and therefore nomination for, or receipt of, one award type does not affect eligibility for nomination of the other.  
  • Any award recipient who is no longer employed by the Faculty of Arts at the time of an announcement of the awards will not be entitled to an award prize.